Tag Archives: Klaus Badelt

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011) – Hans Zimmer

This was one of the few soundtracks that I didn’t buy on my own, waiting instead to receive it as a gift. Why? Because, after Zimmer’s score to At World’s End, I didn’t think that it would be good. Christmas rolled around, I got it, and I listened to it…and guess what? I was pleasantly surprised.

The best part of this album is the addition of Mexican guitar duo Rodrigo y Gabriela. Their flamenco guitars add a wonderful Spanish influence to the whole album, giving a new spin on some classic themes. “Angelica” is a blend of the duo with some Zimmer orchestration; it’s infectious and fun and manages to be one of the more original themes heard in Pirates of the Caribbean since Dead Man’s Chest. “The Pirate That Should Not Be” features the duo alone, and it’s fantastic, with both conventional and non-conventional guitar techniques adding uniquely to the mix.

Even Zimmer brings some new stuff to the table. “Blackbeard” contains some familiar themes but is on the whole pretty original, with lots of dark, brooding stuff and an almost march-like ending reminiscent of war, and even “Palm Tree Escape” is worthy of being called one of the better tracks of the franchise.

Unfortunately, not everything on this album is new and original. “Mermaids”, which I first thought was really cool – also, it features choral work done especially for the film by composer Eric Whitacre – before realizing that I had heard it before…in the FIRST Pirates of the Caribbean movie. Compare “Mermaids” to this brief moment in Klaus Badelt’s “Fog Bound”. Yes, it’s brief, and, it may even be intentional, but still. Aw, heck, I’ll go ahead and say it’s intentional. Zimmer is smart.

So, yes, there are some moments when you’ll be thinking “this is just the same ol’, same ol’ Pirates of the Caribbean soundtrack!”, but it’s worth it solely for the Rodrigo y Gabriela features and to hear some of the classic themes done on flamenco guitar. Also, seven of the eighteen tracks are remixes, and guess what? Those were a pleasant surprise too…I enjoy most of them. Overall, this is a fairly good film score with lots to like and less to hate. A good purchase.

Rating: 4 (out of 5)

1. “Guilty of Being Innocent of Being Jack Sparrow”  1:42
2. “Angelica” (Feat. Rodrigo y Gabriela)  4:17
3. “Mutiny”  2:48
4. “The Pirate That Should Not Be” (by Rodrigo y Gabriela)  3:55
5. “Mermaids”  8:05
6. “South of Heaven’s Chanting Mermaids” (feat. Rodrigo y Gabriela)  5:48
7. “Palm Tree Escape” (by Rodrigo y Gabriela)  3:06
8. “Blackbeard”  5:05
9. “Angry and Dead Again” (by Rodrigo y Gabriela)  5:33
10. “On Stranger Tides”  2:44
11. “End Credits”  1:59
12. “Guilty of Being Innocent of Being Jack Sparrow” (Remixed by DJ Earworm)  2:45
13. “Angelica (Grant Us Peace Remix)” (Remixed by Ki: Theory)  3:08
14. “The Pirate That Should Not Be” (Remixed by Photek)  6:26
15. “Blackbeard” (Remixed by Super Mash Bros & Thieves)  5:26
16. “South of Heaven’s Chanting Mermaids” (Remixed by Paper Diamond)  3:32
17. “Palm Tree Escape” (Remixed by Adam Freeland)  5:28
18. “Angry and Dead Again” (Remixed by Static Revenger)  5:49

Total Length: app. 78 min.

iTunes Album Link


Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest (2006) – Hans Zimmer

Zimmer Week continues!

Hans Zimmer takes the reins from Klaus Badelt in composing the score for the second film of the Pirates of the Caribbean film series, Dead Man’s Chest.

Every single track on this album is outstanding…something I don’t usually say about a Hans Zimmer score, but it’s well-deserved in this instance. The opening track, “Jack Sparrow”, is fitting for the Johnny Depp character, with a drunken cello solo taking up the first minute and a half before it shakes off its stupor and takes off into a swashbuckling, adventurous pirate theme – something that Mr. Zimmer certainly seems to have a knack for.

Perhaps the best thing that this album has to offer is the use of the organ. While it may seem a bit strange to use an instrument like an organ so liberally in a film score, Zimmer puts it to good use. In “The Kraken”, we hear a brooding bass line that is almost reminiscent of John Williams’ theme to Jaws; it takes its own slow pace before building into a full orchestra playing just about as loud as it can, which then dwindles back down to a simple, haunting organ line. The rest of the track simulates the kraken’s hunting of its victims and their impending doom. It’s a terrific backdrop for such a terrifying creature.

The organ also features pretty heavily in “Davy Jones”. The opening of this track is very ethereal and music-box like, showing the more tender side of the character that the track is named for. However, this doesn’t last long before the organ takes over and turns the innocent theme into the inner turmoil that Jones feels inside. It ends the way it starts, but the theme is now slower…almost heartbreaking.

Other standout tracks on this album include “Dinner is Served”, which is aggressive and tribal before transitioning into a waltz that sounds more delightful than the part of the film it is featured in. The joke is, I think, that the swinging cages are meant to represent trapeze artists, an image that the music fits fairly well. “Two Hornpipes (Tortuga)” is raucous and fun, while “Wheel of Fortune” could be used as the definition for “adventure”.

I could go on naming tracks that I love, but let’s face it: I’ve already mentioned more than half of them. If you couldn’t tell, Dead Man’s Chest is my absolute favorite Hans Zimmer score, so go and give it a listen. Every single track on this album is fantastic…minus the DJ Tiësto remix of “He’s a Pirate” from the first film, but it doesn’t count.. Though I’m giving it the same rating, know this: this film’s score is better than Inception‘s. Enjoy!

Rating: 5 (out of 5)

  1. “Jack Sparrow” (6:06)
  2. “The Kraken” (6:55)
  3. “Davy Jones” (3:15)
  4. “I’ve Got My Eye on You” (2:25)
  5. “Dinner is Served” (1:30)
  6. “Tia Dalma” (3:57)
  7. “Two Hornpipes (Tortuga)” (1:14)
  8. “A Family Affair” (3:34)
  9. “Wheel of Fortune” (6:45)
  10. “You Look Good Jack” (5:34)
  11. “Hello Beastie” (10:15)
  12. He’s a Pirate (DJ Tiësto Remix) (7:03)

Total Length: app. 52 min.

iTunes Album Link